Dragon Fruit Sorbet

Summer is officially here!  I can’t be more thrilled; this is my favorite time of the year.  The days are long, the nights are warm, and the city becomes more alive and cheerful!  Six months of the year have passed, and this midway point always brings me to a place of reflection and reorganization (What should I be doing more of?  Or less of?  What bad habits do I need to get rid of?)  This year, I am making an effort to experience summer to the fullest, doing many of the things I’ve always wanted to do, spending time with people whom I’ve wanted to see more of, and taking full advantage of the outdoors.  What about you?  What is on your summer bucket list?

So on the first day of summer, I am making sorbet with these dragon fruits I picked up at the market.  The outside of the fruit is in the most gorgeous shades of hot pink and hint of green.  It looks almost unnatural!  The texture of the flesh inside is distinctive- a lot like kiwi, but the flavor is more subtle and not as tart or sweet.  It makes for a sorbet that is totally refreshing.

Dragon Fruit Sorbet
(serves 4)

2 large dragonfruits
2/3 cup cold water
1 tbsp simple syrup
1 tbsp lemon juice

Cut dragonfruit in half.  Scoop out the pulp.  In a blender combine pulp, water, simple syrup, and lemon juice, and pulse until smooth.  Pour into ice cream maker and churn until frozen, about 20-25 minutes.  Serve immediately or keep in an airtight container in the freezer.

Leave a Reply

