Dark Chocolate Fudge Brownies

One of the best aromas in the world has to be chocolate brownies baking in the oven.  The sweet scent of chocolate wafting through the apartment is just…divine really!  I have outgrown the cake-like, semisweet chocolate varieties and now seem to prefer brownies that are chewy and fudgy, with a deep, dark chocolate taste.  These days I don’t make too many brownies- mostly due to fear that I’d devour the entire pan of it in one sitting- but when I do I’m always glad.

After the batch came out of the oven, I stood in the kitchen and cut a piece from the pan to sample.  And then I sampled another one, and another one, until a sizeable portion was gone.  I couldn’t help myself!  Is it awful for me to admit that this happens more often than not?  I guess I should have mentioned that one of the best things in life has to be chocolate brownies fresh out of the oven!  When it’s warm, the brownies have an ooey gooey consistency, which I absolutely love.  So much about waiting for it to cool to room temperature!

When I finally came to my senses, I packed them up nicely to share with friends.  See?  I’m not that greedy.

Dark Chocolate Fudge Brownies
(makes 9 large squares)

1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
8 oz dark chocolate
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
3 eggs
1 1/2 tbsp instant coffee granules
1 tbsp vanilla extract
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup flour, sifted
1/2 tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/2 cup chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 350°F.  Butter and flour a 9” x 9” baking pan.  Melt together the butter, chocolate pieces, and the unsweetened cocoa powder in a medium bowl over simmering water.  Allow to cool slightly.  In a large bowl, stir together the eggs, coffee granules, vanilla extract, and sugar.  Stir the warm chocolate mixture into the egg mixture and allow to cool to room temperature.

In a medium bowl, mix together flour, baking powder, and salt.  Add to the cooled chocolate mixture.  Fold walnuts into batter.  Pour into the prepared baking pan.

Bake for approximately 35 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean. Allow to cool thoroughly and cut into nine large squares.

*Try this recipe with chocolates of different levels of bitterness and see which type (or combinations) work for you.  I used 6 ounces of 70% dark and 2 ounces of 41% milk chocolate to deepen the chocolate flavors and add more depth to the brownies.

*Be sure to adjust the amount of sugar accordingly if you’re using a different type of chocolate; cut down on the sugar if you’re using a sweeter chocolate (ie: milk chocolate)

2 Comments on “Dark Chocolate Fudge Brownies”

  1. L. says:

    I just tried this and the recipe is amazing! (I added some chopped Reese’s peanut butter cups too, which worked just as well).

  2. […] I was pointed to the right direction when I followed this recipe from TheTastyBite’s […]


Leave a Reply

