Peach and Ginger Iced Green Tea

Lately, I’ve been on an iced tea and lemonade kick.  They’re so refreshing and satisfying for a sweltering summer day.  Oh, and especially after a seven-mile run!  As a previous non-runner, I’m really excited about having reached my first running goal and even more amazed by my will and physical strength!  Running is something I could never imagine myself doing; I remember feeling defeated after experiencing a sharp, intense cramp on the left side of my lower ribcage only few minutes into my runs and thinking, “Why would anyone want to put themselves through something so painful, strenuous, and exhausting?”  After years of telling myself how I’m not a runner and how much I hate it, I want to give it a shot because who knows what I may miss if I don’t try.  It put a lot of things in perspective for me, and for one: you can do anything if you set your mind to it.

I’ll be feeling the soreness in my legs and feet tomorrow. For today, a peach and ginger iced green tea is in the works.

Peach and Ginger Iced Green Tea
(makes about 4 cups)

4 green tea teabags
4 cups boiling water
1 inch piece of ginger, thinly sliced into rounds
2 fresh peaches, sliced
Juice of one lemon
Simple syrup, to taste
Peach slices and mint leaves for garnish

Add tea bags to a glass pitcher with boiling water and let them steep for about five minutes.  Remove the tea bags and let the ginger and peach slices infuse in the tea until it is cooled to room temperature.  Strain out the ginger and peach slices and add simple syrup to taste.  Refrigerate until thoroughly chilled.  Serve over ice with peach slices and mint leaves.

Leave a Reply

