‘Tis the Season!

I hope you had an enjoyable Thanksgiving weekend filled with family, friends, delicious foods, and plenty of relaxation (post-turkey coma? check)  Mine certainly included all of those!

Last week, Deb hosted a pre-Thanksgiving potluck with a couple of friends visiting from California.  Everyone brought such yummy dishes to share and to eat, and so it was a huge success!  I wish I had taken pictures of everything I ate, but I was too busy piling things on my plate and subsequently polishing off all those delicious foods.  Turkey, seafood salad, stuffing, mashed potatoes, beef and mushroom rolls, vegetable casserole….

Let’s be honest, Turkey Day is not the time to eat moderately and responsibly.  Lounging in stretchy pants is the way to go!

I’m not a fan of thickened pan gravy, so I made a red wine reduction with turkey drippings.  

We ended the night with an amazing s’mores cake and a variety of bite-sized cupcakes.  They’re so small that you can probably convince yourself that they’re guilt-free.

You see, it’s not all sunshine and rainbows in my kitchen.  Behind those beautifully-plated, delicious-looking foods, there are plenty of recipe fails and kitchen disasters.  Sometimes, my potato pancakes turn out to be gummy,  inedible globs.  Sometimes, the kitchen towel catches on fire.

And sometimes, things break.

As I was scurrying back and forth an hour before the potluck, a pot lid slipped from the stove where I had precariously left it and broke into a million pieces!  Accidents happen in real life.  Thankfully, I handled the mess with poise and resumed cooking.  Disclaimer: no human beings were harmed in the preparation of this meal.

On Thanksgiving Day, I spent time with my family and relatives in New Jersey, and later headed to my friend Tom’s for a second meal with his family.  Tom’s mom served a wonderful spread of delectable dishes, which included a cranberry sauce flavored with orange blossom water.  I love its delicate, floral note!  Remember this cranberry sauce?  Instead of using orange juice and orange peel, I urge you to try adding a splash of orange blossom water instead.  You’d be surprised at the difference it makes!

And let’s not forget about the pie!  The apple pie was served with scoops of homemade French vanilla ice cream.  Tom raves about this particular ice cream flavor all the time and I never understand what it’s all about.  But now I do!  It is creamy and rich with the flavors of Tahitian vanilla.  So special and so addicting.  I may or may not have had seconds…

What about you?  What are some of the delicious things you’ve eaten this Thanksgiving?

Leave a Reply

